Suspended for Reckless Driving
Typically, if you have been charged and convicted of reckless driving, your license will be suspended for 30 days. The court will then send this information to the Washington State Department of Licensing to update your driving record to show that your license has been suspended. Once your suspension is cleared it will be removed from your driving record.
Do I qualify for a restricted license?
You may qualify for a restricted license as long as you do not have any other suspensions that would prevent the Washington State Department of Licensing from issuing you one. You may qualify for an Occupational Restricted License (ORL). If your reckless driving conviction was reduced from a drug or alcohol related offense and was on or after August 1, 2012, you may be eligible to get an Ignition Interlock License (IIL).
When you’re eligible to reinstate your driver license, you will need to provide:
- Proof of financial responsibility (SR-22), for 3 years.
- A $75 reissue fee
- All required driver licensing fees.
- An Ignition Interlock Device may need to be installed for at least 6 months, if you were convicted of reckless driving but originally arrested for one of the following:
- Alcohol or drug related vehicular homicide.
- Alcohol or drug related vehicular assault.
- Driving under the influence (DUI) with 1 or more prior offenses within 7 years, as defined in RCW 46.61.5055.
- Physical control with 1 or more prior offenses within 7 years, as defined in RCW 46.61.5055.
All information provided by: Washington State DOL
Come to Russell & Hill, PLLC, Everett Misdemeanor Attorneys, for the following services:
- Free initial consultation with our Everett misdemeanor attorneys
- Weekday, evening, and weekend appointments
- Phone consultations with our Everett misdemeanor attorneys 24 hours a day in emergencies
- In-house Spanish translation
- A convenient location on Broadway in Everett